Skip to content

User Management

In ArdenSuite, permissions are distributed by assigning one or more roles to user accounts.

Roles and permissions

There are two types of roles; general system roles and workspace roles.

  • System roles permit global access to server configuration like managing users or creating and re-ordering workspaces
  • Workspace roles are assigned together with a certain workspace and permit access to that workspace and select actions on entities within it, like accessing MLMs.

System roles

System roles mostly grant access to the System area to manage the server.

RoleDescription
System AdministratorIs allowed to perform any action on the server
User ManagerCan access User Management, remove or create users, and assign roles
Workspace ManagerCan access Workspace Management, remove or create workspaces, and re-order them

Workspace roles

There are three kinds of permissions a role can grant on a type of entity: Read, Write and Execute. The latter is only relevant for MLMs.

The table below illustrates what permissions each workspace role grants to the types of entity within it.

RoleMLMPackageExtension
Workspace MaintainerRead, Write, ExecuteRead, WriteRead, Write
Workspace ReviewerReadReadRead
MLM MaintainerRead, Write, ExecuteRead, WriteRead
Extension MaintainerReadReadRead, Write
MLM Performer*Execute--

* The MLM Performer role is intended for service accounts used in server-to-server communication.

Add or modify a user account

Click the New button to start adding a new user, or click the Edit button next to a row to edit that user.

Modify user information

The left side contains basic user information. Passwords and e-mail addresses need to follow the standard rules. The password will only be changed if a value is entered, If the password is left blank, the existing one is kept.

User Information

Assigning roles

The right side contains the role assignments.

System-wide administrative roles can be assigned or removed by checkbox:

Administrative role assignments

A workspace role can be assigned or unassigned to that user and a workspace by clicking into an empty spot on the selection field next to it, selecting or unselecting workspaces, and clicking OK. Workspace roles can also be unassigned by clicking the small cross in the assignment list.

Workspace role assignments

Saving or discarding edits

Click Save on the bottom right to save your changes, or Cancel to discard them.

Remove a user account

Removing a user account will not remove any content they created.

Click the Delete button next to a user to remove them. Confirm the removal by clicking Yes.